

RESOLUTION COMMENDING VELMA JACKSON BOY'S BASKETBALL TEAM AND COACH CHRIS LOVE

WHEREAS, on March 9, 2019, by the score of 59-44 the Velma Jackson "Falcons" defeated the Holly Springs "Hawks" claiming the title of Mississippi High School Activities Association Class 3A State Basketball Champions; and

WHEREAS, this significant victory insures that the Velma Jackson boys' basketball team will be forever recorded in the annals of MHSAA history as this 2019 championship remarkably reflects the team's fifth state victory in seven years; and

WHEREAS, it's 25-6 seasonal record is truly a feat to be admired by all parents, alumni and fans of Velma Jackson High School, and has brought justifiable pride and recognition to the faculty, administration, coaches and students of Velma Jackson school; and

WHEREAS, the Velma Jackson High School "Falcons" Boys Basketball Team has been exceptionally coached and tremendously inspired by Head Coach Chris Love, who has broadened the team's knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution, and he continues to build upon the legacy of superior play and true sportsmanship forged by the tenacious and undaunted spirit of each team member, as evidenced in his ability to provide high-caliber players and plays, and by the team's successful season; and

WHEREAS, Coach Love, in his second year at the helm of the winning Falcon dynasty, is also a second-generation basketball coach at Velma Jackson High School; he is the son of Lewis Love, Jr., who coached at Velma Jackson High School and also led the 1997 Canton High School "Tigers" Boys Basketball Team to a Class 4A State Championship and served as Assistant Coach to the 1999 Mississippi All-Star Boys Basketball Team. These two outstanding coaches now share conversations as State Title holders and will be sure to permeate the atmosphere of any family gathering; and

WHEREAS, the members of this team will carry the unforgettable memories they made along their way to Championship status, whether it be the long hours in the weight room or the grueling practices on the hardwood, as well as the lessons of hard work, dedication, and perseverance learned during this amazing season, throughout their lives as they are constantly flooded with the feelings of greatness that accompanies being a champion; and

WHEREAS, Supervisor Paul Griffin and the entire Madison County Board of Supervisors wishes to convey it's appreciation to the players for carrying themselves with calm and poise on the court as well as off of it, and for exhibiting the character and good moral behavior which serves to typify the young leaders that they are; and

WHEREAS, the excellence that has been expected and which continues to be demonstrated by this team provides hope and guidance and serves as example to all athletic programs throughout the State of Mississippi and in doing so lifts all of Madison County to greater heights; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors believes that the achievements of the Velma Jackson boys' basketball team and Coach Love represents just another testament to the realization of singular, unique and distinctive endeavors that are being achieved throughout Madison County by its young people as a result of superior instruction and the dedication of teachers, coaches, staff and administration in all of its schools.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Madison County Board of Supervisors appreciates, commends, and proudly congratulates the Velma Jackson boys' basketball team and Coach Love for winning the Class 3A MHSAA championship in 2017, and doing so in true and dominant fashion, establishing it's basketball program as the enviable "gold standard" in competitive competition throughout the state of Mississippi. Mr. Paul Griffin did offer and _____ did second a motion to adopt the above and foregoing Resolution. The vote on the matter being as follows: Supervisor Trey Baxter Aye Supervisor Shelia Jones Aye Supervisor Gerald Steen Aye Supervisor David Bishop Aye Supervisor Paul Griffin Aye the motion carried unanimously and said Resolution was and is hereby adopted. RESOLVED, on this the 1st day of April, 2019. Ronny Lott, Chancery Clerk Trey Baxter, President